Events 2027
Calendar 2027 →

Explainers United Arab Emirates

J.P. Morgan Private Bank Opens a Branch in Dubai's DIFC

Timeline: J.P. Morgan private banking team in Dubai in September 2024, DIFC branch opened on 2 November 2026

J.P. Morgan Private Bank, the wealth arm of the US bank JPMorgan Chase, opened a branch in the Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC) on 2 November 2026. The branch is regulated by the Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA) and, the bank says, will serve clients across the UAE and the wider region.

For a Gulf family office, it means one more global private bank with a licensed base in Dubai.

What J.P. Morgan Announced

According to the bank’s statement, its Dubai private banking team more than tripled in the 12 months before the DFSA’s final approval. The headcount was not disclosed. The team is led by Selim Elgen, UAE market head and senior executive officer, and Karim Rekik, regional head for the Middle East. Arif Amiri, chief executive of the DIFC Authority, said the move reinforces Dubai’s position as a hub for private wealth.

The statement does not name the legal entity that holds the branch licence or list the services it may offer. The DFSA’s public register lists JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. and JPMorgan International Advisors (DIFC) Limited as authorised firms.

J.P. Morgan in the UAE Before This

The bank says its UAE relationship goes back five decades, and DIFC has been its regional base for corporate and investment banking for 20 years. More recently it added asset management through J.P. Morgan International Advisors. Press reports at the time said that in September 2024 the bank set up a private banking team in Dubai for wealthy individuals, family offices, charities and foundations.

What a DIFC Branch Means for a Family Office

A branch is an office of a foreign bank, not a new local company. The DFSA decides what it may do inside DIFC, a zone with its own civil and commercial laws and its own English-language courts, as our DIFC guide explains. A local branch does not, on its own, tell you where a client’s account and assets are held: that can still be another booking centre.

J.P. Morgan is not alone. The National reports that HSBC, Barclays and several Swiss wealth managers expanded in the UAE this year, and DIFC gave Arabian Business a count of 592 wealth and asset management firms in the centre. The UAE also tops a recent ranking of emerging family office hubs. Our DIFC vs ADGM comparison covers the choice between Dubai’s and Abu Dhabi’s centres.

What to watch

  • Whether J.P. Morgan publishes which entity holds the licence and which services the branch covers.
  • Whether the branch books client accounts in Dubai or mainly advises clients booked elsewhere.
  • Which other global private banks open DIFC branches next.

A fair caveat

The details come from J.P. Morgan’s own statement and press reports based on it. We could not confirm the licence category or team size. A new branch says nothing about fees, minimums or service quality.

Questions to bring to your advisors

If a banker pitches us from DIFC, which legal entity would we contract with, and which regulator protects us? Where would our assets be booked and held in custody? These are questions to bring to your advisors, not advice.

Sources: J.P. Morgan, J.P. Morgan Expands DIFC Presence By Opening New Private Banking Branch, statement as published by Mondo Visione (2 November 2026); The National, JP Morgan boosts UAE presence with wealth management branch at DIFC (2 November 2026); Arabian Business, JPMorgan expands Dubai operations with new DIFC private banking branch (2 November 2026); Zacks via Nasdaq, JPMorgan Sets Up Dubai Private Banking Team Amid Rich People Inflow (9 September 2024); DFSA public register (viewed 3 November 2026). The size of the team and the legal entity holding the branch licence were not disclosed. Figures are approximate and may change. This material is for educational purposes only and is not tax, legal or investment advice.

Related posts

  1. Largest Family Businesses in the Arab World: 2026 List
  2. HSBC 2026: 72% of Business Owners Have Multiple Residencies
  3. Dangote Refinery IPO Closed: Dangote Set to Keep About 84%
  4. Table of Contents
  5. Definitions

The week in family capital, in 5 minutes

One email a week: the new posts, the deals and what they mean for families. Free, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Privacy